Jon Thorne is a bassist and composer. 

 Renowned as a passionate and energetic performer, his career has spanned a broad range of the musical spectrum.

As double bassist in the acclaimed ground breaking electronica band Lamb, he has helped to pioneer the use of live double bass playing in electronic music. Since the group’s debut in 1996 he has recorded on five of their albums, toured over fifty countries in five continents and played at most of the worlds leading festivals including Coachella, Roskilde, Wechter, Glastonbury, Montreaux Jazz, North Sea Jazz and NYC Central Park Summerstage.

He has also recorded, performed with and appeared on albums alongside artists as diverse as Jon Hopkins, Justin Sullivan, Iron And Wine, Scott Matthews, Liam Bailey, Kathryn Williams, Robert Miles, Trilok Gurtu, Robert Fripp, Donovon, Gilad Atzmon, James Yorkston, King Creosote, Sam Lee, Glen Hansard, Amos Lee, The Accidental, Jesca Hoop, Martha Tilston, Leo Abrahams, Vashti Bunyan, False Lights, Green Gartside, Neill MacColl, Kate St John, The Rails, KT Tunstall and Pictish Trail.

As well as playing double bass, he also sings and plays guitar in Yorkston/Thorne/Khan.

He has performed at the following Jazz Festivals - Montreaux, North Sea, London, Brecon, Manchester, Lichfield, Lancaster, Wigan, Chester, Appleby Monmouth and Nantwich. Also appeared at The Jazz Café and the 606 club and Pizza Express Soho London.

He leads the ensemble Oedipus Mingus, an octet performing original arrangements of the music of Charles Mingus.

His debut album 'Manchester Road' was released through SAM LTD/ EGEA records in 2006 .

He wrote, recorded and produced his second album 'Watching the Well' - composed as a showcase for his mentor, legendary British bassist Danny Thompson. It was released on the Naim label in 2010.

His playing featuring extensively on the new NBC/Universal American Sci-Fi TV Series "Hunters."

Recorded film soundtrack work includes :

The Legend Of Barney Thompson - 2015

The Look Of Love - 2013

Selected Discography

Surrounded - Justin Sullivan 2021

The Third Law Of Motion - The Strangest Of Times 2020

Navarasa - Yorkston/Thorne/Khan 2020

The Secret Of Letting Go - Lamb 2019

Singularity - Jon Hopkins 2018

Homestead - Jon Thorne 2017

Greetings From Hamilton, Canada - King Creosote 2017

Let Your Weirdness Carry You Home - Malojian 2017

Headlong - John Smith 2017

Neuk Wight Delhi All Stars - Yorkston/Thorne/Khan 2017

Resonator - Kathryn Williams/Anthony Kerr 2016

Home Part 2 - Scott Matthews 2016

Before The Sun - Hannah Sanders/Ben Savage 2016

Everything Sacred - Yorkston/Thorne/Khan 2016

Hypoxia - Kathryn Williams 2015

Definitely Now - Liam Bailey 2015

Salvor - False Lights - 2015

Charms Against Sorrow - 2015

Backspace_Unwind - Lamb 2014

The Cellardyke Recording & Wassailing Society - James Yorkston 2014

Crown Electric - Kathryn Williams 2013

I Was A Cat From A Book - James Yorkston 2012

Eavesdropping - John Smith CD 2011

Five - Lamb CD 2011

Fear of Fours - Lamb CD 1998

Lamb - Lamb CD 1996

Between Darkness and Wonder - Lamb CD 2003

Best Kept Secrets - Lamb 2004 CD and DVD

Lamb - Live at The Paradiso - DVD 2011

Live at Koko - Lamb CD 2011

Watching The Well - Jon Thorne CD 2010

Manchester Road - Jon Thorne's Oedipus Complex CD 2006

Thirteen - Robert Miles CD 2011

Snowglobe - Jesca Hoop CD 2011

Oh My Days - The Memory Band CD 2011

Map or Direction - John Smith CD 2010

Love Amongst Ruin - Love Amongst Ruin CD 2010

Lucy and the Wolves - Martha Tilston - CD 2010

One Good Thing - Lou Rhodes - CD 2010

Ninja Tuna – Mr Scruff 2008

Migrating Bird - The songs of Lal Waterson - Various ( with James Yorkston ) 2007

Of Milkmaids and Architects - Martha Tilston CD 2006

Miles/Gurtu - Robert Miles/Trilok Gurtu LP 2004